When you browse the web, QtWeb stores information about the websites you visit, including the content, browsing history, your downloads, etc... Other people who use your computer can view that information.
If you don’t want this information stored, use private browsing:
- Choose Privacy > Private Browsing, or press Ctrl+Alt+X, or click "Turn on Private Browsing mode" toolbar button. Informational message appears.
- Click Yes if you want to see the same informational message in a future, or click No to skip it in a future.
The following occurs when private browsing is turned on:
- Webpages are not added to the history list.
- The Downloads window is cleared so the name of anything you downloaded won't appear in the list. (To get rid of the downloaded item itself, you must delete it.)
- User names and passwords used for auto-filling forms are not saved
- Current session is not added to the recent sessions list
- Searches are not added to the pop-up menu in the search field.
- Cookies are prohibited and deleted.
- QtWeb UserAgent is disabled and masked for the remote web server.
To turn private browsing off, choose it from the menu again, or depress a related toolbar button, and close any windows you’ve used to view private information. If you don’t close the windows, other users can view those pages using the Back and Forward buttons.
Private browsing is always turned off when you open QtWeb, even if it was on when you last quit QtWeb.